UK Women’s Athletics League

TVH’s ladies team in the Premier Division of the UK Women’s Athletics League (UKWAL) which provides the highest level of team competition for our top athletes. The competing teams are the 32 best teams in England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales. The competition is split into four divisions of eight teams with promotion and relegation for the top and bottom two teams. The Champions of the Premier Division go on to represent the UK in the European Champion Clubs Cup.

The UKWAL generally follows UK Athletics rules on Higher Competition and Foreign Athletes who have to be registered well in advance of the competitive season. If you are interested in competing for TVH as a higher claim or foreign athlete, please contact our team manager, Manuel da Silva (, to discuss the possibility. Likewise contact our team manager if you are an athlete seeking a top class first claim club.

Athletes are restricted to three events excluding relays and non-scoring events. Seniors only may compete. For the purposes of the league, a senior is defined as being over 17 years of age on 1st September in the year of competition.

Every season, clubs need to provide four officials for the three matches with each officials scoring five points per match. If you are interested in becoming an official or a volunteer for the team, please contact Kirsty Addy via

Team Manager: Manuel da Silva
Team Captain: Angela Barrett
Vice Captains: Lucy Ferguson and Zoey Clark
Assistant Team Manager: Dave Wilkinson
Former Team Manager and long time supporter: John Smith
Sports Massage Therapist: Lucy Smith
Officials: Roy Clarridge, Roger Fitzgerald, Alan Ferguson, Maire Gorman, Geoff Hawes, Dave Huffer, Marion Huffer, Allistair Murdock and Barrie Saunders

2019 UKWAL Premier Division Teams
Birchfield Harriers
Blackheath and Bromley Harriers AC
Cardiff AC
Edinburgh AC
Notts AC
Thames Valley Harriers
Trafford AC
Windsor Slough Eton & Hounslow AC

2019 UKWAL Premier Division Dates and Venues
Sunday June 9th Leigh (near Manchester)
Saturday July 6th Eton (Windsor) 
Saturday August 3rd  Birmingham

TVH’s UKWAL History
TVH began their UKWAL journey in 2004. Through their Southern League position, they qualified for the Promotion Match at Abingdon in September 2004. The team produced an exceptional performance to win and secure their position in Division 4 of the UKWAL for the first time in 2005. Since then, the club have enjoyed some fine seasons in the league, growing stronger as a team with every year that passes. In 2015 TVH’s ladies became Champions of the UKWAL, in doing so became the first club in the South of England to hold the UKWAL Premier title and TVH went to represent GB at the European Champion Clubs Cup in Portugal on 28th May 2016 where they became European Champions.

2016 European Champion Clubs Cup Group B Winners

2005    Division 4      3rd
2006    Division 4      2nd
2007    Division 3      6th
2008    Division 3      3rd
2009    Division 3      4th
2010    Division 2      2nd
2011    Division 1      3rd
2012    Division 1      3rd
2013    Division 1     1st      Division Champions
2014   Premier          3rd
2015   Premier          1st       League Champions
2016   Premier          2nd
2017 Premier            1st       League Champions                                              2018 Premier            1st      League Champions 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *