Winning times and team results for TVH Juniors at the Middlesex County Road Relay Championships

Thames Valley Harriers young athletes had another good start to the winter season. Taking part in the Middlesex County Road Relay Championships they had a mixture of winning times and good team results at the Minet Cycle Circuit in Hayes.

The first event was a 1500m circuit of the course for the under 11 boys and girls. The boys race was impressively won by Basil Rock having his first race for TVH. Miguel Longoria was also having his first road race and finished 12th. Behind him Otto Huber in 18th place was also making his debut In the girls race Alice Pernthaller improved her time by finishing 6th Another newcomer, Eve Datnow ran well to finish close behind her in 7th place.

In the first of the relays, Charlotte Buckley ran faster than all the under 13 boys to bring the under 13 girls team home first with a record time of 10.46. This was faster than all the under 15 girls and was only beaten by one under 17. Freja Scaap lost a little ground but still finished lap two in second place. Then Charlotte Cooney-Quinn ran well to bring the team home for silver medals. Phillipine Pourpart-Lefarge ran a very impressive first lap behind Charlotte Buckley to finish in fifth place on the first lap. In the boys race out lone competitor Guy Kaye ran very strongly to be fourth boy home on the first lap.

With two strong teams in the girls under 15 relay the Valley girls were first and second for the whole race. India Weir led off and mixed it with the boys to finish with the fastest lap in the girls race. Verity Walker was very close behind her for the ‘B’ team and the pattern was set. On lap two Alice Harray increased the lead over Iona Pernthaller who has not raced since April. On lap three Kosana Weir brought the ‘A’ team home comfortable winners in front of Rose Barkle who was having her initiation into road running. Non-scoring Matilda Ferrand upset the form book with her best run for a long while to finish fifth girl home on the first lap. The boys teams also had a good day with the ‘A’ team finishing second and the ‘B’ team fourth. Jake Hooley led off but came up against good opposition but still managed fourth place. Then Louis Medd closed up on the leaders and made up a place. Finally Ebou Njie made up more ground to bring the team home second. The ‘B’ team also did very well with Finlay Watson close behind Jake in seventh place. Max Buckley is running much srronger than last year and was the fastest TVH under 15 on the day. On lap three Nicholas Duer also had a brilliant run to bring the team home 4th.

Unfortunately the winning team of last year, although eligible, were unable to run and it was left to Chiara Kafero-Roberts to run a lone lap in the under 17 women’s race. The under 17 men’s team were also short of athletes and did surprisingly well to come away with bronze medals. On the first lap Cassius Rathbone put in his big effort a bit too early and although he finished third he lost ground on the leaders. Abraham Mendes Da Costa closed the gap but was passed by another athlete. On the last lap Alexander Khlaf recovered third position for the team. Kieran Lyons was another runner without a team to follow him but he still had a good run.

U11 Girls 1500m Race

6th Place –  A Pernthaller 6:28; 7th Place –  E Datnow 6:40 .

U11 Boys 1500m Race

1st Place – B Rock 5:20; 12th Place –  M Longoria 5:57; 18th Place –  O Huber 6:25

U13 Girls 3 x 3000m Relay

1st Team –  TVH (C Buckley 10:46 fastest lap; F Scaap12:39; C Cooney-Quinn 14:00) 37:25

Incomplete ‘B’ (P Pourpourt-Lafarge 12:40)

U13 Boys

Incomplete (G Kaye 11:14).

U15 Girls

1st Place –  TVH (I Weir 10:47 fastest lap; A Harray 11:18; K Weir 11:09) 33:14

2nd Place –  TVH ‘B’ (V Walker 12:08; I Pernthaller 11:44; R Barkle 13:18) 36:10

Incomplete ‘C’ (M Ferrand 12:38)

U15 Boys

2 TVH (J Hooley 10:29; L Medd 10:54; E Njie 11:22) 32:45

4 TVH ‘B ’(F Watson 11:15; M Buckley 10:23; N Duer 11:19) 32:57

U17 Women

Incomplete (C Kafero-Roberts 13:48 )

U17 Men

3rd Team TVH – (C Rathbone 10:20; A Mendes Da Costa 10:32; A Khlaf 10:43) 31:35

Incomplete ‘B’ (K Lyons 11:45);